A passion for food + fashion

Jean Genies

In Fashion on September 11, 2013 at 11:03 am


Guys, I’m sick of skinny jeans. For a few months now I’ve been on the hunt for a pair of not-so-skinnies that I can wear with flats or booties, even heels. I finally struck gold with the above pair of Chimala painters jeans in sulphur indigo denim that were on fire sale from their original breathtaking $430 price tag. When I took them into Denim Doctors last week for hemming the guys freaked out at the triple stitch seams and the soft Japanese denim. They’re kind of awesome.

Prior to my major Chemala score, however, I turned to three trusted girlfriends in the biz for their favorite alternatives to the skinny jean. Are we totally ditching our skinnies? Not just yet. But here are some fresh and chic silhouettes to mix it up.



Kim Friday, Senior Fashion Editor, Sportswear, Women’s Wear Daily 

THE SILHOUETTE: Now…(rubbing hands together like Tom Hanks in You’ve Got Mail when he’s about to type)…boyfriend jeans. They are back with the vengeance. You must get a pair!

THE MAKERS: I am a huge fan of Citizens of Humanity, MiH, Current/Elliott, AG Adriano Goldschmied, and Levi’s Made and Crafted for this style, all of which are slouchy but not crazy oversized and would look equally good with a flat or a heel.



Lizzie Garrett Mettler, blogger, freelance writer, and author of Tomboy Style: Beyond the Boundaries of Fashion

THE SILHOUETTE: I’m liking and coveting YOUR Chimala painter pants. They’ve got a simple utilitarian silhouette and I find them to be a nice alternative to the slouchier “boyfriend cut.”


Chimala: Pricey heirloom-quality denim that nods to the workwear roots of jeans.

Raleigh Denim: American-made standards that will weather trends and actual weather.

A.P.C.: These jeans are so buttery when worn in that APC actually will buy back your old pair, fix ’em up, and re-sell them (at least at the WeHo store). I don’t think there’s anything more valuable in the denim world than a perfect fitting old pair of APCs.

Levi’s Vintage Clothing (LVC): LVC painstakingly recreates actual designs from the Levi’s archives, it’s like finding that incredible vintage piece, but you’re the first to wear it. This includes 501s.


AK copy

Amy Keller, fashion stylist for personal clients, as well as advertising campaigns such as Levi’s and Madewell

THE SILHOUETTE: Midrise is what I’m feeling right now in terms of denim in general, and my own personal style. I like a fashionable jean for myself after I have my staple jeans covered. I’m bored with a skinny jean, I know a lot of editors still wear them, but skinny jeans are not flattering for a lot of women. For my clients, I’ve been thinking about the new silhouette and in general I have three that I’m really hopped up on…


Dior Homme, circa 2005: They’re so good—a simple and chic boys jean that runs small and has a nice stretch, but not stretchy like a sausage. It’s just a great silhouette that looks good on everyone. Wear with a heel or flip flops.

J. Brand Boot Leg: Think Jackie O, Carolyn Bessette, simple, classic, preppy women. The bootleg balances the hips and the bum, it’s a visual trick that makes all women longer and leaner, taller and thinner. J. Brand has nailed the dark denim wash, and they have the best pocket placement. Stay away from pockets that are too big and far apart, they make your bum and hips look extra wide.

Closed Pedal Pusher Tapered Leg: They have a perfect dark indigo wash and there’s just enough give so they’re comfy so you look expensive instead of looking like a sausage.

  1. Oh, man, does this mean I have to venture out from my 501’s…!?

  2. Thanks for the jeans run down. I for one am sick of guys in skinny jeans!

  3. Sorry, I waited a long long time for skinnies to return and am so happy to finally have them back. We had flares and baggies (some guys STILL wear baggy pants) from ’92 till late ’06. It got so boring and so old. (Btw, I particularly LOVE skinny jeans on guys so I hope it’s not going away anytime soon). I would hope now that rather than style being traded (skinnies for flares, and vice versa), the choice grows. Have some flares without giving away the skinny jeans and just have more choice selections as you so brilliantly spelled out in your article. Clothes and style should have a myriad of *choices*. Not become one drab, boring monochromatic look. Because different body types and personalities fare better in different styles.

Leave a Reply

