A passion for food + fashion

Calling All Superheroes

In Baby Love on July 19, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Last weekend not-so Tiny G turned four. FOUR! And like most four-year-old boys he is obsessed with all things superheroes. Which is how I found myself up at 2am hand-painting these damn peg dolls for every kid in his preschool class. Spiderman was very nearly my waterloo. I admit, the 6-hour process was somewhat addictive in a One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest sort of way, first drawing in pencil each superhero’s details on the wooden pegs, then painting one color at a time and letting dry before adding the next detail.

Tiny G nearly lost his mind when he saw them the next morning. For the gift bags, I found these little natural cotton muslin drawstring bags and decorated them with a handmade Spiderman rubber stamp that I ordered from Etsy. When it comes to kids birthday parties, Etsy.com—filled with people far more creative than I—is truly a girl’s best friend.

Tiny G handed out a superhero goodie bag to each of his preschool classmates yesterday. Etsy was also the source for these awesome cupcake toppers that can be personalized (however, you’ll have to speak to my sister about baking you some of these AMAZING chocolate cupcakes):

Since he turned four while we were in Vermont, we had his actual party back east last week with his cousins. Each cousin got a personalized superhero cape.

Even Tiny G’s brand new baby brother got in on the action. Because there is nothing babies love more than a cape.

I made this dreadful chocolate cake impaled with a spiderman action figure. I’m having PTSD just thinking about how much red food coloring I used in the frosting.

The highlight of the party had to be this awesome Spiderman piñata—another Etsy find. I filled it with noisemakers and packets of Annie’s organic gummy bunnies mostly as a PR stunt to atone for the toxicity of the birthday cake.

After the party’s over, piñatas also double as excellent scarecrows. Here’s to my super boy turning 4!

  1. Awesome!!! I can’t see Wolverine though😀 He’s my Favorite!!

  2. What a lucky boy!!! Two celebrations–both well deserved. What a boy!!! xxxxoooo

  3. This is the cutest birthday party on the planet! Can I do this for my fiancé?

  4. On top of everything else, you are also a great painter! This bday party should be in a magazine! Lucky Tiny G and his little brother!

  5. i just wanted to make a quick comment to say i’m glad i found your blog. thanks.

  6. Heather, your boys are so incredibly lucky to have you as a mom!!! That is one amazing birthday and super creative. Anna

  7. Whoa this party has raised the bar for the next kids’ birthday I”m organizing, thanks for the inspiration!

  8. There is nothing better than the precious birthday party you created with such thoughtfulness and love- It is what childhood memories are made of- Your fortunate G shall be forever grateful-

Leave a Reply

