A passion for food + fashion

It’s in the Can…

In Food on June 19, 2012 at 12:34 pm

I’m kind of in awe of this Linguine with Sardines, Fennel & Tomato recipe I stumbled upon via Food52.For one thing, just about all the ingredients are CANNED: tomatoes, breadcrumbs, sardines. It also makes me wonder, what else can I be making with tinned sardines? I love how meaty they are—and cheap. As a starving student in Paris, I used to eat a tin of these for dinner.

What I love about this recipe is that you pour off the olive oil from the sardines into a skillet and sauté garlic in the olive oil until fragrant. You then add sliced fennel and red chile flakes, then some canned tomatoes and your sardines, dry vermouth and lemon juice for a little brightness and then your linguine. It’s all topped with toasted breadcrumbs with lemon zest and all in takes about 15 minutes to prepare, making it our new favorite weeknight go-to. And the dish is just LOADED with flavor. Serve with a very cold glass of rosé. For the full recipe, click HERE.

  1. Love it! We just opened a tin of mackerel out of desperation for something to throw in a salad quickly for lunch – and I think the leftovers will work perfectly in lieu of the sardines. Looking forward to trying this for dinner tonight🙂

  2. The official pasta dish of Sicily! (Only they add dry currants and possibly I don’t quite remember, pine nuts.) But I especially like the line: “As a starving student in Paris…” So chic.

Leave a Reply

