A passion for food + fashion

Roasted Curried Cauliflower

In Food, Recipes on March 7, 2012 at 1:58 pm

This past month, I’ve only been able to handle cooking if it is super-duper easy. My current go-to side dish is this roasted curried cauliflower, a riff on a favorite from A.O.C. restaurant in Los Angeles. I serve this alongside brown rice and chicken cooked in an Indian Life Tikka Masala simmer sauce from Whole Foods. (I prefer the Indian Life brand to Seeds of Change.)

The simmer sauce is a far cry from the sublime (and involved) Chicken Tikka Masala I loved making pre-pregnancy, and someday I’ll hopefully have enough energy to return to cooking good Indian, but in the meantime, at 9 months pregnant, opening a jar is fine by me.

But back to the cauliflower. I promise you this dish will be a grand slam at the dinner table. There is so much flavor and comfort, which seems particularly surprising given how easy it is to make. Let me know what you think!

Roasted Curried Cauliflower

1 head cauliflower florets (preferably orange cauliflower if you can find it)

1 medium yellow onion, quartered

3 teaspoons curry powder

3 teaspoons smoked Spanish paprika

1/2 teaspoon ground coriander

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1 1/2 teaspoons salt (or to taste)

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

Preheat oven to 450°F. Place cauliflower florets and onion in large roasting pan. In a bowl, whisk together spices, salt, oil and vinegar. Pour dressing over vegetables; toss to coat. Spread vegetables in single layer in pan.

Roast vegetables until tender, stirring occasionally, about 35 minutes. Serve.

  1. Oh my goodness that sounds really good! Is it pretty easy to make? I love spicy food but my husband doesn’t how spicy is it so I know if I make it if I will be the only one eating it? haha🙂

    • It’s not spicy at all! (If by spicy, you mean hot spicy.) I use a “picante” Spanish paprika to add a little heat, but you can use the mild Spanish paprika or sweet Hungarian to add flavor. It is so easy to make—just quartering an onion and chopping a head of cauliflower and tossing with the dressing (which takes all of 2 minutes to make). Good luck and let me know how it turns out!

      • Ok cool I think I for sure wiill have to test it🙂 Love having vegetables where they taste good and almost crave them that is always a good sign🙂

  2. I’ve been meaning to try this! Looks so freaking good.

  3. Made it. Delicious. You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

