A passion for food + fashion

Pirate Ship Fruit Bowl

In Baby Love, Food on January 25, 2012 at 11:45 am

A friend is planning a princess and pirates birthday party, which reminded me of Tiny G’s pirate party this past summer. I kind of geeked out making a pirate ship fruit bowl from a watermelon. My husband wanted no part of it. Carving it out was the worst, but the portholes were easy enough thanks to an apple corer.

For the fruit salad, I took a page out of Mark Bittman’s book and chopped up watermelon, pineapple, banana and drizzled with a couple tablespoons of maple syrup. For the masts, I used bamboo bbq skewers and for the sails, a scull & bones stamp on mottled paper. My sister made these fantastic shark cookies:

That went into these muslin treat bags I made for Tiny G’s friends:

Which made for one happy pirate.

  1. This picture of you with the babe(s) is so chic. I can just see Big George with that on his wall when he grows up looking for a woman who wears such stylish shades!

  2. Love that facepaint! So much easier than keeping an eye patch on all day.

Leave a Reply

