A passion for food + fashion

Kids in the Hall

In Design, Fashion on November 11, 2011 at 9:46 am

Today is moving day. For the first time in my adult life, I will be sharing closet space. For the past three years, I’ve been squatting in the closet in my son’s bedroom and it has been less than ideal, but it was my own private space and likely why I’ve enjoyed a happy marriage up until this point.

But now that our son is at the age where he might actually need his own closet, my husband and I decided to cohabitate. We knocked down the wall between the tiny master bedroom closet and our son’s, and reclaimed some of the space in his closet for our own.

It looks pretty great! But I underestimated how much space we’d need for shoes. My husband was visibly distressed this morning when he absorbed the full gravity of the shoe situation in the hallway—and that we would need the contractor to put in an additional pull-out shoe shelf, which is happening as we speak! It also didn’t help when our three-year-old chimed in, “Why are there so many shoes, Mama?” It’s a question for which there is no good answer. Fortunately, however there is a solution. Stay tuned!

  1. looks like kicks in the hall! 😉

  2. “why are there so many shoes, mama?” oh, the innocence!

Leave a Reply

