A passion for food + fashion

Gray Expectations

In Design on August 6, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Last night we were at a friend’s very fabulous 40th birthday party. (There was a soft serve station. Need I say more?) While we wolfed down grilled-to-order white cheddar, avocado and tomato sandwiches, my friend Kristi remarked that she hadn’t seen the final colors on our stucco project from a few months ago. I’m so happy with how it turned out—it’s like a whole new house! In fact, my friend Lizzie still drives past it every time she comes over. Depending on the light, the wood trim either looks dark grey or greenish.

Here are before/after pics of the garage to give an idea…

Once the house was gray, all of a sudden, I started noticing that the few hits of orangey-red I’d planted in the mostly purple and silvery-green flower borders started to pop.

Which meant that I had to repaint the Chinese Chippendale outdoor dining chairs in Farrow & Ball “Blazer” and invite my friend Lizzie over to drink pitchers of St. Germain and prosecco (a cocktail greatly enhanced by adding a splash of Plymouth Gin).

A color scheme I then realized was feeling strangely familiar. Had I seen this before in my living room?

Or was it in our bedroom?

No, it must have been when I was redoing the home office.

Or maybe it was in the kitchen…



  1. I can’t believe how different the house looks. Your eye for color is incredible!

  2. The color of the garage doors is simply beautiful, and does reflect the color of the silvery green border. I did my bedroom in the Berkshires in a celadon green, with accents of lavender, since I had a very powerful memory of spring on Big Sur, with hillsides of sage and heather. Very calming, wonderful color. So is the color of the exterior itself. A touch of the interior designer coming through, for sure!

  3. i heart gray. but… can we please discuss the Chippendale chairs. where did you get originally? and how hard was it to paint, or rather to prep for paint?

  4. The chairs originally came from Gumps, which billed them as outdoor chairs. They were not. The chairs ended up rusting and I had our painter sand them all down (which took him and a coworker the better part of a day), and then use a heavy duty rust primer from Dunn Edwards, over which went the final (outdoor) paint color. Our painter used a sprayer to apply uniformly. It ended up costing about $125/chair (plus cost of paint) to deal with, but it was going to cost a lot more to replace them with something comparable new/vintage and they were unusable in their rusted state.

Leave a Reply

