A passion for food + fashion

Garlic Scape Chimichurri

In Food, Out of Town, Recipes on July 8, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Garlic scapes! They’re pretty, they’re delicious, they’re here for a limited time only! If you see these mild-tasting stalks at the farmers’ market this weekend, pounce. These past few years the garlic scape window has coincided with a visit to my in-laws’ in Vermont. If you have favorite recipes, please share! Last year I tried garlic scape pesto.

Really, REALLY delish, especially over a simple caprese salad or tossed with pasta. Last week I experimented with a Garlic Scape Chimichurri. Chimichurri is a green sauce from Argentina to accompany grilled meats, and we spooned ours over Mr. Foodinista’s expertly grilled New York strip steaks.

To make, I threw a couple scapes in a Cuisinart with some parsley, cilantro and mint from my mother-in-law’s garden, and then added olive oil, red wine vinegar, lemon juice, some chopped shallots, salt and pepper and few red pepper flakes. Total prep time: 5 minutes. And leftovers were great on steak sammies the next day…

THE FOODINISTA’S GARLIC SCAPE CHIMICHURRI

1/2 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 garlic scapes, chopped

1 shallot, peeled, halved

1/2  teaspoon fine sea salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper

2 cups (packed) stemmed fresh parsley

1 cup (packed) stemmed fresh cilantro

2/3 cup (packed) stemmed fresh mint

Place ingredients in blender or food processor and purée until well-blended. Spoon over grilled steaks.

 

  1. Hello, I wish I had read this blog yesterday morning. I was at the farmers market and passed stall after stall of garlic scapes. I had my first chimichurri while in Caracas and have been in love with its flavor ever since. I’ll try it with scapes before the end of their short season.

  2. Hi from Portland OR! As I clicked on your blog I was eating Dove Vivi’s cornmeal crust pizza with house made pancetta,garlic scapes, mozzarella, fontina, with a sprinkle of red chile flakes and a squeeze of fresh lemon. Taste of summer!

  3. […] Garlic scapes! They're pretty, they're delicious, they're here for a limited time only! If you see these mild-tasting stalks at the farmers' market this weekend, pounce. These past few years the garlic scape window has coincided with a visit to my in-laws' in Vermont. If you have favorite recipes, please share! Last year I tried garlic scape pesto. Really, REALLY delish, especially over a simple caprese salad or tossed with pasta. Last week I exp … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

