A passion for food + fashion

Your New Summer Cocktail: The Lulu

In Drink, Recipes on July 6, 2011 at 9:32 am

We’re back in the land of WiFi! And before I relive the past two dreamy, cellphone-free weeks at my in-law’s summer place in Vermont, I thought I’d share what is destined to become your new summer cocktail. Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you THE LULU! The night before we left for Vermont, I was over at my friend (and celebrity caterer) Lulu Power’s for a girls dinner, and upon walking in the door, Lulu handed me a mason jar filled with muddled strawberries, fresh basil, with a splash of Aperol and St. Germain and topped up with Prosecco. Immediately I knew I would be drinking it all summer. It’s pretty, and pretty delicious.

Look for the juiciest strawberries you can find, like this pretty basket that we picked one afternoon at Dutton Farms in Newfane, Vermont.

Muddle a few strawberries and basil leaves in the bottom of a glass.

Add a splash each of Aperol and St Germain Elderflower Liqueur. I do about 1/2 ounce of Aperol and 1 ounce of St Germain. Throw in a few ice cubes, and then top with Prosecco.

Then settle into an adirondack and enjoy. For more entertaining and recipe ideas from Lulu (below), check out her fantastic book, Lulu Powers: Food to Flowers, and blog which currently features a sublime recipe for Chile & Cilantro Margaritas.

  1. Looks wonderful and refreshing!

  2. I am TOTALLY making these tonight.

Leave a Reply

