A passion for food + fashion

Coconut Shrimp with Cauliflower Couscous

In Food on May 9, 2011 at 9:57 pm

My younger, fitter, blonder, nicer—and all around fantastic—gorgeous sister came over for dinner tonight. She’s been giving the Paleo (aka “Caveman”) diet a whirl. It’s based on meat, fish, vegetables, fruit, and nuts, and avoids grains, dairy, refined sugar and processed oils, which sounds reasonable enough. That said, Claire rightly points out that Cro-Mags did not have the highest of life expectancies, but we figured one meal probably wouldn’t do any more harm than 13 misspent years during which I smoked a daily pack of Marlboro Reds. But I digress. Dinner was delicious. Claire brought over some gorgeous Mexican shrimp from Santa Monica Seafood, which simmered in coconut milk, a tablespoon each of minced garlic and fresh grated ginger, with a little salt and pepper for about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, I steamed a head of cauliflower until just tender and then chopped in food processor until it looked like couscous. The “couscous” went into a skillet with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, a teaspoon of curry powder, a pinch of ground ginger and pimenton. I sautéed for about 5 minutes:

We spooned the shrimp over the cauliflower couscous and my, my was it good. But the real takeaway here is the Cauliflower Couscous. So freaking great and I loved the way it soaked up the coconut sauce; the couscous was so toothy and a little bit nutty. Next time I order any kind of Indian or Thai takeout, instead of steamed rice I’m going to make this instead.

  1. Dinner was delicious! And for being a “caveman” diet, I didn’t find it to be the slightest bit uncivilized, nor did it seem restrictive in any way. Loved it!

  2. Love this idea! I’ve been obsessed with making sauces lately but the rice/pasta/quinoa base has been killing me, this sounds like the perfect solution! xx

Leave a Reply

