A passion for food + fashion

Pizza with Beet Greens and Pancetta

In Food, Recipes on March 4, 2011 at 8:56 pm

We’ve been loving our CSA farm bag each week, and I’m loving the challenge of using everything in there right down to the greens. In fact, that’s the only part of the beet my husband will eat. And so I’m always on the search for new ways to deploy these flavorful greens.

Last week my sister and I were planning a tip of the cap to my mother’s Buffalo, NY, roots—an evening of pizza and Buffalo wings. Of course there’s no beating Bocce Club Pizza, but I didn’t have time to have one shipped cross-country (they deliver NATIONWIDE – best news ever). So, I thought parsimoniously, why not sauté up those beet greens with a little olive oil and garlic to throw on a pie?

My husband has mastered the art of pizza on the grill, so why I sautéed he grilled a round of Whole Foods pizza dough over medium high for two minutes on one side, then flipped and grilled for another 30 seconds or so. (There is also some technique involving the rotisserie burner that he’s being cagey about sharing—but do experiment, I promise it’s worth it!) Then he brings the dough inside and we put toppings on the less done side. For this version, I used spinach pesto for sauce topped with the sautéed beet greens, some grated leftover Appenzeller cheese from our Valentine’s Day fondue, and a few slices of pancetta. When Mr. Foodinista puts the pizza back on he uses indirect (or low) heat. Cook with the toppings until cheese is bubbling, another 5-10 minutes depending on heat of grill. My husband says it’s his favorite homemade pizza to date. So no, it’s no Bocce, but here’s what homemade pizza, blue cheese dressing and home-cooked wings can look like in LA.

  1. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti

  2. Outstanding!

  3. […] My husband has mastered the art of pizza on the grill, then why I jumped it grilled a cycle of pizza dough Whole Foods on average high for two minutes on one side, and then returned and grilled again 30 seconds or. (There is also a technique involving engraver Rotisserie is current share – but not experiment, I promise is worth!) Then he brings the paste inside and we put the side linings less done. For this version, I used pesto spinach for sauce topped sautéed beet, some leftover cheese Appenzeller rapé our fondue of Valentine’s day and a few slices of bacon. When Mr. Foodinista put the pizza on heat indirect (or low). Cook until cheese is bubbly, an another 5-10 minutes, according to the heat of the grill with trim. My husband said that his pizza House favorite to this day. If not, is not bowling, but here what pizza House, blue cheese dressing and home-baked wings may look in the. original: Pizza with Beet Greens and Pancetta ? The Foodinista. […]

Leave a Reply

