A passion for food + fashion

The Valentine’s Dinner Dilemma

In Food on February 10, 2011 at 10:46 pm

I love my husband, I love restaurants, but I hate going out to eat on Valentine’s Day mostly because I dread having to inhale the cloying smog of 50-odd competing perfumes in an enclosed space. It seems that February 14 unleashes the inner spritzer in so many of us. This year, we’re just not doing it and instead are staying in for a cozy night of fondue. On Monday I plan to hit the Cheese Store of Beverly Hills to pick out some Gruyère, Appenzeller and Emmentaler to make my grandmother’s recipe for cheese fondue. It’s a show stopper, just like the woman herself! Everyone in my family makes this fondue, and we all have the same fondue pot in different colors. Mine is in a fabulous discontinued flame orange—a present from our friends Booth and Adam. But the cherry red pictured above from Le Creuset would make a great gift for your Valentine, don’t you think?

  1. I have to agree. We’ve made a point of staying in on Valentine’s Day every one of the 9+ years we’ve been a couple… A much better tradition than the standard prix-fixe dinner-out route, sez me!
    (Although, you do miss out on the awkward people watching opportunities!)

Leave a Reply

