A passion for food + fashion

Bacon, Fried Egg, Manchego, Tomato Sandwich with Sriracha Aioli

In Food, Recipes on January 7, 2011 at 9:59 pm

I am missing my husband, who is in Las Vegas for CES this week, something terrible. But when the cat’s away, the mouse will stay up past midnight drinking cava with her book club girls and then crave like the dickens a fried egg sandwich the following day. Fortunately, I had all the fixings, including bacon, a sliver of Manchego left over from book club last night and half a boule of Homeboy Industries whole grain bread. In a bowl, I mixed together a little brown sugar, cayenne and cracked black pepper.

I liberally sprinkled the mixture on top of a couple slices of bacon and baked them at 350 F degrees for 20 minutes. Then I flipped the slices and cooked another 15 minutes until they were crispy and caramelized. (Caramelized bacon = crack.)

While the bacon was cooking, I mixed a little mayo and Sriracha together in a bowl and then slathered it on two thick slices of bread. Then a slice of tomato from my CSA farm box this week, a fried egg, and a few shavings of Manchego got topped with that naughty, naughty bacon.

It was perfect in every way except one: that my one true love wasn’t here to enjoy it with me.

  1. […] I am missing my husband, who is in Las Vegas for CES this week, something terrible. But when the cat's away, the mouse will stay up past midnight drinking cava with her book club girls and then crave like the dickens a fried egg sandwich the following day. Fortunately, I had all the fixings, including bacon, a sliver of Manchego left over from book club last night and half a boule of Homeboy Industries whole grain bread. In a bowl, I mixed togeth … Read More […]

  2. Meany…..this sounds too good to be true! Reason #101 to be your neighbor. X0X0 fellow bubbly lover

  3. oh oh oh I must try this!

  4. Yum! I love Manchego!!!! Viva la Sriracha!

  5. Holy moly. This looks divine! I loooove Manchego!

Leave a Reply

