A passion for food + fashion

Sitting Pretty

In Design on January 1, 2011 at 2:54 pm

In 2010, one of my dreams came true in the form of a 1940s Jacques Adnet red leather sling side chair with an iron frame and brass details. Adnet was a French art deco designer, whose furniture for Hermès is the stuff dreams are made of. Because this particular chair is “attributed” to Adnet rather than “by” Adnet, an all-important zero got knocked off the the price tag. I had to pinch myself when I saw it. The chair, which I’m picking up first thing Monday morning, is going to live in our bedroom, along with these vintage Liberty curtains in an art nouveau Ianthe pattern that I scored for a song on eBay a few years ago.

Update 1/3/11: The chair is home—and found its way into a corner in the living room beneath a sentimental aboriginal painting with beautiful crosshatching that I found in Australia when Mr. Foodinista and I were newly dating. So happy!

  1. Seriously swooning! What a great find!

  2. That is one beautiful chair!! Congratulations on your find!

Leave a Reply

