A passion for food + fashion

Sriracha Shrimp Cocktail

In Food, Recipes on December 4, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Last night marked our tenth annual Fa-La-La holiday bash. What started off as about 30 people knocking back Champagne punch in my beloved one-bedroom apartment on Sycamore a decade ago has grown to over 100 crammed into our home in nearby Windsor Square. And you know what? It’s my favorite night of the year! I’ll write more about the groovy menu later, but first wanted to share my favorite new addition: Sriracha cocktail sauce inspired by my dear friend and author of best-selling Gastrokid CookbookHugh Garvey, who just launched an awesome new blog. Last night I served this super spicy, super delicious cocktail sauce on a seafood tower with jumbo shrimp. And before I could even snap a pic, every last bite was GONE. Next weekend I’m going to make some more to take to my sister’s and will grab a few dozen oysters to go with. Be popular with your friends (or your sister) and make this:

The Foodinista’s Sriracha Cocktail Sauce

2 cups ketchup

2 generous tablespoons Sriracha

2 generous tablespoons Bubbies horseradish

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1 large shallot, peeled

In a bowl, mix first five ingredients. Using a microplane, grate shallot into bowl. Stir to mix. Refrigerate for several hours.

  1. This sounds delicious! I love horseradish and Sriracha together! Can’t wait to try this! Viva la Sriracha!

  2. Which sriracha brand did you use? I’m curious since one of my clients is a sriracha manufacturer in Downtown LA (Heng Yang).

Leave a Reply

