A passion for food + fashion

Turkey Trials 2010

In Drink, Food on November 26, 2010 at 9:44 am

Two thousand ten will go down in the books as one of the most memorable Thanksgivings—for the good, the bad and the unbelievable. On this beautiful sunny Los Angeles morning, surrounded by my family, the turkey trauma of three days ago seems like another lifetime. And so I will answer a few questions. Yes, the turkey turned out okay. In fact, it was fantastic! So here’s what I learned. You can safely defrost even a 16-pounder in a matter of hours (click here for info). And even one day of salting will produce superior results. This turkey was so juicy and flavorful. Look at it coming out of the oven!

And then my husband, who is the greatest in the whole wide world, took to the bird with the precision that only a Japanese knife can offer.

And just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, it did. My dad surprised us with a magnum of 2004 Stony Hill Chardonnay.

And so, it was quite late and we were quite drunk by the time we tucked into my sister’s pumpkin and pecan pies made with the buttery best crust imaginable. Oh, and the pies were pretty spectacular for breakfast, too, though this coffee doesn’t hold a candle to the Stony Hill.

  1. So happy everything turned out well!!! I wish I could carve a turkey half as well as your husband did yours!!

  2. love the pics! so beautiful!

  3. Right now I’m wishing I was American. This feast looks amazing! I’m impressed by the turkey. I always have turkey issues. Ah well, there’s still time to perfect it. And now for the next holiday…Christmas!

  4. Great blog! Really glad I found it, now following🙂 I love Thanksgiving meals and think we should make our British Christmas dinner much more like your festive feast. The pumpkin and pecan pies look delicious! xx

  5. Your pictures are so fabulous I can hardly read what you are saying!!!

Leave a Reply

