A passion for food + fashion

Florida Fantastic

In Out of Town on November 12, 2010 at 6:09 am

When I was 11, my family moved from England to Northern California, where I lived until moving to Paris at the age of 25. Having spent most of my formative years on the Left Coast, I had been misinformed about the great state of Florida. I mean, I love the opening credits to Miami Vice (which, incidentally, first hit the tube the same year we moved to California) but that is embarrassingly where I had filed Florida.

Cruise ships, bikinis, flamingoes, NASCAR, Don Johnson. So it is perhaps ironic that Don Johnson actually lives in my neighborhood (or I in his) in Los Angeles. And that I’m head over heels in love with Florida. This week we are visiting my in-laws in Gulf Stream, Fla., a gorgeous community tucked between West Palm and Boca. Yesterday was picture perfect—balmy and breezy during the day with a warm tropical rain that night. We had lunch on the beach (above) with my father-in-law as Tiny G watched the fishing boats breeze by. Life is good today, and there’s no place I’d rather be.

  1. Florida isn’t all retirement homes and Don Johnson…though some of that Florida does exist🙂 You must try the stone crabs, they are in season right now!

Leave a Reply

