A passion for food + fashion

Douro, Te Amo

In Drink, Out of Town on October 18, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Speaking of the October issue of Bon Appétit, my column in that issue is about the Douro region of Portugal. I was there a year ago this week doing research for the story and wanted to share some of my photos from the trip. The terrain is some of the most beautiful wine country I’ve visited in the whole wide world. Look at those hills, and the river snaking through them. Below is Quinta do Crasto, where brothers Miguel and Tomàs produce some of the region’s most spectacular reds.

Before lunch, we had salted almonds and olives, both plucked from trees on the property, which has been home to a working winery since at least the seventeenth century.

Oh, and they make a pretty mean 1970 Quinta do Crasto Colhieta Tawny Port, which was never released commercially, but Miguel uncorked for our lunch. Luscious nutty and butterscotch flavors. I want to time travel back to that afternoon.

Their friend winemaker Luis Seabra from Niepoort was also at lunch, and shared what was my favorite bottle of white on the trip—the 2008 Niepoort “Tiara” Branco, made from unpronounceable grapes like arinto, codega, donzelinho, viosinho, rabigato and more. It was GORGEOUS, and in no way was I biased by my tiara fixation.

And let’s not forget the cheese…

But nothing quite beat coming home to see this little guy dressed as a bee for his second Halloween.

  1. Heather, I’ve been following your blog thanks to Lizzie G Mettler and also read Bon Appetit religiously. I was so excited reading your article about the Douro because I was just there this summer (and at the Alhambra as well–sorry I missed their cortado!) and stayed at Quinta do Vallado. In addition to having great wines, the quinta has a small, gorgeous guesthouse with about 5 rooms, perched on one of those terraced hills, completely surrounded by figs, citrus, olive trees, lavender, rosemary…all the good stuff. Thanks for helping me relive the trip and all its food and wine glory!!

Leave a Reply

