A passion for food + fashion

My Happy Place

In Baby Love, Design, Media on September 29, 2010 at 11:38 am

If you, like I, are one of more than 1.5 million viewers who have clicked on the story All Joy and No Fun: Why Parents Hate Parenting, which ran this summer in New York magazine and landed its author Jennifer Senior a pretty sweet book deal, chances are you have an opinion about parenting regardless of whether or not you have kids. Here’s mine. Parenting is not easy. And sure, I miss being able to pack up for the weekend and go to a ritzy party in, say, Florence on a whim. Or, hell, even go to the movies up the street without having to orchestrate schedules, sitters and mortgage my house to pay for a simple night out (it adds up, people!). In my most self-indulgent and frustrated moments, I wonder if my career might have taken a different turn if I hadn’t had kids. And here’s the answer: who cares? Because there is just no high like waking up every morning and walking into Tiny G’s room and seeing his little nose wrinkle and smile. This moment each day is happiness in its purest form.

His meltdown at dinner last night, on the other hand, was not. But what is good without the bad? While I don’t like to put up photos of Tiny G online, I will share some pics of his room, because it is my happy place.

  1. Keep reading a “changing table” is superfluous, as are mini bibs? Best news — apparently there are live-in nurses for $1500/month in my nabe. Not only am I going to watch a movie at the theatre, we might even go somewhere not up the street. Thanks to lax immigration policy, the kid’s gonna learn Spanish, Mandarin, & Cantonese while I’m off doing Saam.

Leave a Reply

