A passion for food + fashion

Valerie Confections Rose Petal Cake

In Food on September 27, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Saturday night we celebrated my sister Claire’s birthday—and celebrate we did! Starting with pink Champagne and potato chips with crème fraîche and caviar at our friend Lizzie’s, followed by a three-tier seafood tower situation at Hungry Cat, and culminating in a Valerie Confections Rose Petal Cake back at chez Foodinista. I do not exaggerate when I say it is now my favorite cake on offer in the entire city of Los Angeles! This is where Alice Waters of Chez Panisse and I part ways: Waters recently special-ordered a chocolate cake with candied mint from Valerie, and added that after trying Valerie’s candied basil she might steal that idea for Chez Panisse. So while Waters ponders which of Valerie’s cakes with candied herbs she wants to heist, I’ll be keeping this rose petal number all to myself. This is the second of these cakes I’ve ordered from Valerie in as many weeks. Proof positive:

Thank god we have a little of Claire’s cake leftover, because turns out it is also spectacular with a cup of coffee for breakfast. Happy Birthday, Claire!

  1. This cake looks amazing. I can’t wait to go to Valerie’s and order one. Thanks for the tip Heather!

  2. And the happiest of birthdays it was!! That cake is incredible.

Leave a Reply

