A passion for food + fashion

Uncle Sam Wants You, Foodinista!

In Fashion on September 23, 2010 at 2:19 pm

I am unapologetically in an army green phase, thanks to my friend Billy, who gifted me with this lovely camo bag earlier this summer from the Army Navy Surplus store on Vine in Hollywood. At $20, a STEAL considering Prada’s $1,120 version at Barneys. And I like mine better. Those-in-the-know have come to recognize this as the Billy Bag. Originally we dressed it up with an orange Hermes twilly, but then I found this old Chanel camellia kicking around in my closet. Ditto on an old favorite Marc Jacobs trompe l’oeil jacket in army green with cream pinstriping. I wore it to a meeting at Tiny G’s preschool yesterday and I love it today as much as I did back in 2003, when it came home for the very first time!

As I packed for a weekend getaway at the Ace last weekend, I noticed that army green was holding strong with my old-lady Chloe prescription sunglasses (PS – don’t ever get prescription lenses put in a frame this large—they are unbearably heavy to wear after a couple hours), a fabby new shade of Chanel Khaki Vert nail polish and a favorite Erès bikini, which is more of a mushroom color really but it wanted to tag along. Who knew that Billy, who was also in Palm Springs this past weekend for a friend’s birthday party, would surprise me with a $3 gun-print bandana from the Army Navy Surplus in Atlanta, GA??

  1. Great info. Lucky me I found your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

