A passion for food + fashion

China Girl

In Design on September 11, 2010 at 3:27 pm

I am hopelessly in love with formal bone china. My parents have two services—Herend Chinese Bouquet in green and, my favorite, Wedgwood Florentine with gold dragons. They had started on a third, Limoges Vieux Chine. It’s an 18th century design featuring bright orange poppies with blue and green florals and even a hit of lavender, but was discontinued in the 1980s. It’s completely over the top and I’ve been crazy about it since I can remember. When Mr. Foodinista and I were engaged and wanting to register for china, we never found anything we liked quite so much and so my dad gave us their four settings of Vieux Chine as a starter kit. We’ve slowly added pieces ever since. My most recent eBay score is this gorgeous vegetable dish, which I got for $56 but retails on Replacements.com for $300+!!!

Leave a Reply

