A passion for food + fashion

Flowers for Foodies

In Design on August 17, 2010 at 11:20 am

I went hiking up in Griffith Park this morning with my friend Mia, who quite simply has great taste in everything she does. And by trade, that includes renovating and interior design. This morning she gave me this Oncidium Sharry Baby ‘Sweet Fragrance’ orchid, which smells like CHOCOLATE! I’m not kidding—my entire kitchen smells like Alice Medrich just set up shop. Just imagine the disappointment when Mr Foodinista walks in the door tonight and wonders where the brownies are. (He should know better; I don’t bake.) And every bit as delicious as the chocolate fragrance perfuming the air is the gorgeous mid-century pot in which it sits. Mia found it at the Rose Bowl Flea Market. Whenever she sees interesting vintage pots, she grabs them for hostess gifts later. How great is that?

  1. Stunning! A most beautiful and thoughtful gift. Speaking of Mia’s taste, ask her about her stuffed red pepper app. A-mazing.

  2. Who makes the hanging lamp??

    • Hi Kelly – thanks for your comment! I got a couple other emails about the light yesterday so I did a whole post on it. If you have any questions about the light, I’m happy to answer. LOVE IT. But the filament bulbs don’t give off all that much light. It’s more like dining by candlelight, which is sort of lovely.

  3. Hi, I’m admiring the wall color, do you happen to remember the name of it and Manufacturer?
    Thank you,Jackie

Leave a Reply

