A passion for food + fashion

Mansion on Turtle Creek

In Food, Media, Out of Town on June 7, 2010 at 2:32 pm

© Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek, Dallas TX

This past weekend my husband and I flew to Dallas, TX, for a dear friend’s 40th birthday bash. I fully expected the weekend to be a blast. I mean, come on, this is Billy Fong we’re talking about. But what I didn’t expect was how much I would LOVE the city of Dallas. And who wouldn’t, checking into the Mansion and being greeted at reception with a cookie and iced latte?

Every last detail of this hotel is first rate (it’s a sister property to the San Ysidro Ranch in Santa Barbara), and the hotel’s restaurant boasts the only Michelin-starred chef in Texas, Bruno Davaillon. My husband and I chose to celebrate our anniversary dinner there on Friday night before joining the party on the terrace to fête Billy. I think it incredibly rude to photograph food in a posh restaurant as it disturbs the experience for other diners. However, since we were eating so early and alone in a corner I asked our server if he would mind and he said snap away! So here is a taste of a most memorable meal, starting with oysters served with a spicy cocktail sauce and wasabi caviar. What I love is the gorgeous bed of rock salt and peppercorns on which the oysters were served:

Then there was this grilled asparagus and mushroom risotto with shaved parm and meyer lemon emulsion. I love risotto passionately, but find that only about 1 out of every 10 you order is worth it. This was one of those sublime risottos that keeps me coming back for more.

I might start getting emotional if I talk too much about my main course, it was so beautiful. Coconut poached Maine lobster with madras curry and hearts of palm:

Meanwhile my husband turf-ed while I surfed, and he was every bit as smitten with his duo of braised short ribs and prime filet with potato fondant and MARROW BUTTER.

And then it was out to the patio to celebrate. Here’s a sneak peek at the chic of Billy’s entourage. L to R, Minnesota ballroom dancing champion Anna, NY art consultant Meredith, the Birthday Boy, and PaperCity‘s Dallas co-editor and social editor, Brooke Hortenstine.

Leave a Reply

