A passion for food + fashion

Memorial Day Weekend

In Drink, Film, Food, Media on May 26, 2010 at 11:47 am

I’m tempted to start packing my LL Bean monogrammed Boat and Tote RIGHT NOW for this coming Saturday night’s adventure. My friends Lizzie, Katie and I (and respective gentlemen) are heading to the Hollywood Forever Cemetery for a screening of Hitchcock’s North by Northwest. Lizzie has a great post over at DESIGNwatcher.com about what she’s packing for our picnic. In addition to Lizzie’s thermos of whiskey sours, Katie is bringing rosé, and we’re all cooking up a storm. Mr. Foodinista will be grilling Bourbon-Molasses Chicken Drumsticks (perfect companion to the whiskey sours) and I’ll be making The Foodinista’s Orzo Salad with artichokes and prosciutto. Here’s a shot of the salad from last summer:

It’s like it was MADE to go with rosé. Katie is bringing a lentil salad with herbs and feta, as well as some grilled veggies. And Lizzie is threatening to make some super delicious caramel oat bars for desert. Now, what to wear. I mean beyond the requisite pearls in a nod to the ever spectacular Eva Marie Saint…

  1. orzo salad here we come…and one of my favorite couples from the silver screen. It is time for a whiskey sour and a Hitchcock film for sure. Raining like cats and dogs in Napa today. I love your recipes and words! Cheers!

  2. I really want to get my hands on this picnic basket. Everything sounds amazing! What a fun idea…enjoy!

  3. Love your website! Great recipes and cute stories!🙂

Leave a Reply

