A passion for food + fashion


In Design on May 25, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Now that the paint has dried on our gorgeous red lacquer bookcase, I’ve been unpacking box after box of books, magazines, more books, more magazines. Firmly rooted in the Type A camp, I wanted to streamline all my back issues of Bon Appétit, Gourmet, Saveur, Los Angeles Times Magazine and various other pubs containing clips from yesteryears. I found these untreated wood magazine files at Ikea:

You can stain or oil the magazine files. I’m leaving them untreated. But speaking of color, I also unpacked three of my favorite nail varnishes, which used to live on my desk at Bon Appétit, in case of emergency: Chanel Ruby Slipper, Laura Mercier Caviar Dreams, OPI My Private Jet. Also from my former office, a Friedlander poster from the 2005 exhibit at MoMA, which was AMAZING. Beside it sit 10 individual French press coffee makers, just in case 9 of you would like to come over for brunch…I’m ready.

Today I’m alphabetizing books (uh huh). I can’t wait to press this little guy into action, a ceramic frog bookend from Alpha on Melrose:

Tomorrow, my desk arrives!

  1. loving these home office posts! i’m brainstorming about how to make my at-home work space feel more, well, office-y. checking out your ideas is quite inspiring!🙂

Leave a Reply

