A passion for food + fashion

Sea Bass with Pea Tendrils and Shallots

In Food, Recipes on May 11, 2010 at 9:33 am

In three weeks I need to be poolside, and so it’s time to clean up my act at the table. That—and my sister and I are running Bay to Breakers in San Francisco this weekend so now is as good a time as any to take a break from the gin and tonics and focus on feeling great. To get my head in the game, I loaded up on bunches of broccoli rabe, pea tendrils, spring onions and some gorgeous sea bass and local hamachi at the Plummer Park farmers market in nearby West Hollywood yesterday morning. Check out these pea tendrils—only $1/bunch.

I sautéed some shallots in a little olive oil and then added a handful of pea tendrils at the last minute, tossed and set aside. Meanwhile, I steamed a bunch of broccoli rabe, which got tossed with some pepper flakes and a little grated pecorino. For the sea bass, I cooked it stovetop for a couple minutes over medium heat in a Le Creuset grill pan, then put the whole pan in the oven at 425 degrees for about 10 minutes.

Pea tendrils are just so good. Kind of like a cross between snap peas and spinach. I love how sweet and fresh this piece of sea bass tasted along with the crunch of the pea tendrils. I noticed, however, that Mr. Foodinista left a few tendrils on his plate. I guess you can lead a steak-and-potatoes guy to pea tendrils, but you can’t make him eat.

  1. Do you ever order pea shoots with garlic in Chinese restaurants? It’s a really great way to get your greens in when there are plenty of unhealthy options just waiting to crowd your plate! You can even eat them instead of white rice, as an accompaniment to another dish.

Leave a Reply

