A passion for food + fashion

Dispatch from Gotham

In Food, Out of Town on April 23, 2010 at 3:25 pm

I opened up my email this morning to find the following. Live, from New York, it’s Vincent Boucher!

So I had just walked out of one of my favorite places in NYC, the Paul Smith flagship store on lower Fifth Avenue (there’s a magenta checked shirt there that has my name on it!) and a gorgeous buttery yellow truck caught my eye curbside. Going in for a closer look, I saw the logo on the side door – Van Leeuwen Artisan Ice Cream, direct from Greenpoint, Brooklyn. I stepped right up, and though I lingered at the thought of Strawberry or Hazelnut, it was The Foodinista’s and my shared fondness that determined my order: Peppermint and Chip. My generous single-scoop portion was delicately cream colored (the custard base is made with only fresh milk and cream from their cows up in the Adirondack’s) with flecks of chocolate – no artificial Avatar green color in the organic Oregon-sourced peppermint flavoring. Thin chips of Michel Cluizel 72% chocolate melted on the tongue and the peppermint taste was delicate and indeed, as the website says, refreshing. Since 15th and Fifth Avenue is one of Van Leeuwen’s regular stops (and I do have to pick up that shirt), I’ll be making a return trip to that corner before I head home to LA. I’m sure The Foodinista would approve.

  1. Oh, I do love the Van Leeuwen ice cream truck. We get regular visits in my neighborhood and they are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

