A passion for food + fashion

Make Your Own Vegetable Stock

In Food, Recipes on March 31, 2010 at 8:21 am

Yesterday I was making a soup that called for vegetable stock, and since I had all the ingredients I thought I’d give it a go. The resulting broth tasted so rich, and I love that it didn’t come out of a can. Active time is about 20 minutes, and then you leave the broth to simmer for an hour and a half. The recipe makes about 3 quarts, so you can freeze it until you’re ready to use.

Vegetable Stock, adapted from The Jimtown Store Cookbook

1/4 cup olive oil

1 large yellow onion, sliced

2 large carrots, cut into 1-inch chunks

4 celery ribs with leaves, cut into 1-inch lengths

3 large garlic cloves, mashed

4 quarts water

1/2 bunch (4 ounces) flat-leaf parsley, stems and leaves

1 tablespoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon whole black peppercorns

1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, crumbled

In a large pot over medium heat, warm the oil. Add onion, carrots, celery and garlic and cook, uncovered, stirring occasionally until the vegetables are lightly browned, about 15 minutes. Add the water, parsley, salt, peppercorns, fennel seeds, and thyme. Bring to boil, then lower heat and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, for 1 1/2 hours.

Cool stock, then pour into strainer set over bowl. Press hard on the solids with back of spoon to extract as much of the liquid as possible. You should have about 3 quarts. (If you have much more than this, return to pot and simmer until reduced to 3 quarts.)

Cool, cover and refrigerate for up to 3 days or freeze for up to one month.

  1. I started making my own stock (vegi and chicken) about a year ago and once you go homemade you can’t go back. I have have half a dozen quarts (I recycle my chinese delivery soup containers) at any given time and it’s amazing how much you use them once you know you have them on hand. For great chicken stock, I use pretty much the same vegi stock recipe and toss in the carcas of my bi-weekly roast chicken and any chicken bits (I buy my breasts from a farm and they come minimally trimmed so I trim them down myself and pop the bits in a freezer bag until I’m ready to make stock) which yields a delicious broth too!

Leave a Reply

