A passion for food + fashion

Everything’s Coming Up Roses (and Nasturtium, Poppies, Geraniums, etc)

In Design on March 30, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Last night was warm and lit up by a beautiful new moon. My husband and I sat under our rose-scented pergola and sipped margaritas late into the night. It’s the first time the climbing roses have bloomed since we trained them up the pergola last summer. Just dreamy. Here’s a closer look at the blooms:

I was reminded of a comment recently from an LA expat and tropical plant enthusiast now living in Washington, D.C., who told me that people in Los Angeles need to stop growing roses. But I can’t. There are few things that make me as happy as these gorgeous spring blooms, especially on the rosebush I gave to Mr Foodinista for his birthday last year:

How is that flowers have such magical properties? I was feeling kinda blue this morning and so pulled over at the new Rolling Greens Nursery on Beverly (OMG – it’s AMAZING, much smaller than Culver City location but just incredible housewares, cement vessels and plants), and loaded up the trunk of my car:

And now I feel like this!

  1. So dreamy. Cannot imagine how good that smells!

  2. PRETTY! I need to get some climbing roses… they create a very soft and romantic look.

Leave a Reply

