A passion for food + fashion

Je suis malade…

In Out of Town on March 18, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Let me preface this post by saying that my colleagues and I refer to what follows as an entry on the “wall of woes.” Among my favorite previous wall of woes from colleagues include It was the worst $600 lunch of my life, Why is secondi always so disappointing? and Spago, again? So here’s my latest entry: I’ve been holed up in a b&b in La Clape for the past 24 hours after wretched food poisoning from a Michelin one star. Last night Madame D brought me down a little tray of toast, beurre and proprietary honey along with a cup of chamomile tea. I’ve been sleeping it off in this cozy bed, beneath a blue wooden ceiling with dolphins stenciled on the walls:

It didn’t hurt that when I finally emerged for some fresh air this morning, I opened the French doors to this:

I’ve learned that food poisoning isn’t any more pleasant in France, even at the hands of Michelin chef. But there are worse places to recuperate, and I’ll be sad to leave my petite chambre today:

  1. Any chance we can find out the name of this lovely B&B? Hope you are feeling better. Lovely post, despite your unfortunate encounter with food gone bad or someone’s careless hand.

    All best,


  2. Sounds like a crazy time – was anything wonderful? What was the trip for? When will we hear ALL the details?

Leave a Reply

