A passion for food + fashion

The Romance of Ramen

In Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on February 11, 2010 at 9:59 pm

What, I ask you, is more romantic than a big old hunk of pork belly?

My friend Alex and I struck out this morning to shop for our Valentine’s Day dinner party this weekend and the first stop was Huntington Meats at the Farmers Market on Third/Fairfax. We’re doing a Japanese-themed extravaganza, and the main event is the ramen recipe from Momofuku, my favorite restaurant in NY. The broth alone takes 10 hours to make. Here is our menu:

Sashimi + Champagne


Roasted Mushroom Salad with Braised Pistachios, Pickled Sunchokes + Radishes


Momofuku Ramen with Roasted Pork Belly + Slow-Poached Egg


Japanese Pickles



It’s a ridiculous undertaking, but we plan to divide and conquer. This morning’s mission: pork. Alex picked up 6 lbs of pork belly (above) and butcher Jacob deboned a 6+ lb pork butt, below. Alex is slow-roasting the belly and butt; I’m making the broth so I snagged the pork bones and have asked Jacob to hang onto any more bones, which I’ll hopefully pick up tomorrow morning. I need 5 lbs. I have .75 lbs. Stress.

From there, we headed to the Little Tokyo Market Place on Alameda (an enormous Japanese/Korean supermarket) to do a serious shop. Thank god, Alex was with me or I would’ve been there for HOURS. (I don’t read Japanese, PS.) So here’s what we got: konbu, dried shiitakes, fresh ramen noodles, nori, fish cake, radish shoots, canned bamboo shoots, instant dashi, mirin, oyster and enoki mushrooms, shichimi togarashi…

Now all that’s left is to secure the rest of those pork bones, find some sunchokes to pickle and get my hands on some Japanese feathered “fleur-ever” eyelashes from Shu Uemera:

  1. Can’t wait to see you in those “lashes”.

  2. yummmm! recipes please

  3. No the ideal source, but Jon’s on La Brea has pork neck bones.

    • Wish I’d read this yesterday -next time! Apparently the pork neck bones are ideal for this recipe. I ended up w/ pork shoulder bones and Huntington Meats was kind enough to set them aside for me. Very cool of them. Roasted bones are simmering in broth as we speak!

Leave a Reply

