A passion for food + fashion

“Are You Fat, Foodinista?”

In Food on February 7, 2010 at 12:06 pm

The other day, a reader posted the following comment: Are you fat, Foodinista? I suppose the answer is in the eye of the beholder. If you are asking a fashionista, then yes. I’m 5’8″ and a size six or medium, which is arguably “large” in the fashion world. If you ask a foodie, the answer is likely a kinder, gentler no. I eat what I like, and yes, I run about 15 miles a week and that’s not including chasing after Tiny G. But the honest truth is that when you eat/drink for a living, portion control is way more important than exercise when it comes to keeping off the lbs. And after Tiny G was born, I definitely needed to shed a good 20 lbs. Later this week, I’ll tell you how I did it—and it was all thanks to my friend Ashley Koff RD, a superstar nutritionist AND foodie who is featured in this month’s Glamour and had a great spread in the December issue of InStyle (above). Ashley adds, Being a “foodie” is one of the healthiest approaches to food. When we consume real food, we get satisfying taste and nutrients which tend to fill us up and provide the right balance of energy. What is that “right” balance? Aim for a serving of carb, protein, and healthy fat + unlimited veggies about every 3 hours – see the AKA menu worksheet in the client resources section at www.ashleykoffapproved.com.

So, Ash, is a pig in a blanket a “healthy fat” if I eat it with carrot sticks?

  1. If the blanket is made of kale or collards and has an exquisite mustard sauce, it might not be healthy fat, but it would be yummy!

  2. Dear Foodinista,

    One of my favorite of all your wonderful posts that I receive regularly in my e-mail. I am a devoted fan of The Foodinista. Have recently been in Paris and couldn’t get into that fab place you recommended, but my daughter and son-in-law and brand new baby (my adorable grand-daughter) went there and you are now their hero!

    But, golly, I was hoping for a picture of the beautiful Foodinista. Will we ever get that??

    All best and love your site, tell everyone I know about it,


    PS: Are you on twitter?

    PPS: This time I listed my blog site in the i.d. stuff required instead of my website ’cause my blog will become a book. Miracles do happen! I hope you have a chance to take a look at my good news that is announced at the top of the blog. I hope you feel okay with posting this. If not, write me, and I will repost without this last P.S., but I hope YOU will go take a look.

  3. Wowza, Is there anyone you DON’T know? I’m skinny fat and I hate it. Must eat more celery? Dipped in ranch.

Leave a Reply

