A passion for food + fashion

It’s Raining Caviar, Hallelujah!

In Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on February 5, 2010 at 5:33 pm

Today it is pouring, and I mean, POURING in Los Angeles. After fighting my way through hellacious traffic from a morning meeting over in Santa Monica, I met my friend Trisha for lunch at Petrossian in West Hollywood. Let’s just say that if you ever need a little sunshine on a dreary day, this just might do the trick. We started with a glass of Champagne, and I kind of can’t believe what fabulousness happened next. Let’s start with blini with trout roe:

We also each had a bite of salmon roe and some classic caviar. I love the different textures and flavors from dark and rich to sweet and juicy.

And then came what Trisha dubbed the ultimate Super Bowl dip: caviar, dill and cream cheese spread topped with more caviar and served with paper thin purple potato and sweet potato chips. I mean, can you imagine?

Then came my absolute favorite, a soft-boiled egg with toast points smeared with pressed caviar. Okay, so pressed caviar is AWESOME. It’s what they do with the “dregs” and is essentially a paste of 100% sturgeon caviar that has been concentrated and is super intense. A little goes a long way. I bought a little 30 gm jar (1.06 ounces; $63) and am going to spread it over grilled ribeyes tonight. Woohoo! If I have any left over, will toss with pasta for lunch tomorrow! Or maybe I should just go this route for breakfast:

And because we hadn’t had quite enough caviar, and because Trisha knows the chef (the very young and talented Benjamin Bailly, formerly of L’Atelier de Joel Robuchon in Vegas), we had dessert. Topped with caviar. Think of this as a beignet with salt caramel, but instead of a beignet you have a fried blini and instead of salt, you have a dollop of caviar. Whoa. Thank you, Trisha, for a totally decadent and delicious lunch!!!!!

  1. Are you fat, Foodinista? I know, I know…not delicately posed. But how do you do it? All this beautiful food and libation? I know you run and have Tiny G which must burn calories. Please share tips…

  2. I could definitely stand to drop another 5 lbs, I’m not going to lie! But as most people who eat for a living will tell you, it is about portion control. For me, that’s way more important than exercise, though I definitely feel better and more energetic when I am in a regular running routine. Also, I tend to start the day with protein – either a hard-boiled egg or a (nondairy) smoothie per the recommendations of Ashley Koff, one of LA’s most fabulous nutritionists! I think I’ll post about her!

Leave a Reply

