A passion for food + fashion

Postcards from Billy: Seeing Red

In Fashion, Media on February 2, 2010 at 11:21 am

For the newly initiated, POSTCARDS is recurring feature with fashion advice from my dear friend Billy, an art consultant with a wicked eye and even wickeder wardrobe. In this edition, he plans for a birthday bash and—appropriately, on the day of Oscar nominations—takes red carpet fashion to task…


Dearest Foodinista, you must come for a visit soon and you are more than welcome to stay at my humble abode (cost savings measure to buy even more Haider Ackermann). I so need a big dose of you. Had a marathon long distance drinks call with my dearest Texas friend, Ann Hobson, to get advice on an upcoming momentous rite of passage – my 40th birthday. So, of course my mind goes directly to a few things (1) chic locale – I am thinking either Dallas or Palm Springs (would the Kaufmann house not be super swellegant?) (2) wardrobe choices and (3) music.

I will go directly to music – I am now listening to the following three things on Youtube for inspiration: Noonday Underground London (so chic and makes me want to only spend time with girls who have chic bobs or falls), Carpenters Superstar (found a great video where Karen is so tragically thin she can barely hold the microphone) and Astrud Gilbertos Ipanema (OMG – the video where she walks through a curving stage set, perfection).

Now, wardrobe – I’ve been buying sale shoes at Saks like it’s a hurricane and I am stocking up for the onslaught. If it’s Palm Springs, lots of excuses for wearing all sorts of khakis, both shorts and trousers, with brilliant loafers. I’ve also found someone in Atlanta that I am potentially designing a line with and she has been embroidering my old school Brooks Brothers (boys size) oxfords with all sorts of whimsical things like guns and helicopters. I am also seriously coveting a Filson shooting bag. Only an It girl like you could understand – everyone else hates it. Please take a look and help me decide between hunter green and khaki. It’s so Louis Vuitton last season.

[FOODINISTA NOTE: Billy, darling, I purchased the otter green Filson field bag as a diaper bag for Mr Foodinista almost two years ago, though admittedly the shooting bag would have been much more avant garde. Love it, especially with cashmere. Go with the green.]

I might have something else on its way this week. I went to Saks one last time to rummage through the sales stuff and found a brilliant pair of Gucci blue driving loafers with a bamboo bit. Apparently they had my size at another store and they might be able to ship. It’s a little 50/50 on the chances. Not versatile by any stretch of the imagination, but when they do make an appearance it will be memorable (sort of like my recent red shoe purchases).

So, any thoughts on the Globes dresses? Ann and I in unison said that Chloe Sevigny in the Valentino was amazing, unfortunately it didn’t photography well and thus she was universally panned. Where was Tilda Swinton? The only one who can pull off Lanvin with such ease and wit, and the only woman who understands it…(except perhaps Daphne Guinness). Although, the only other standout was someone who did wear Lanvin well – January Jones. She was close to perfection since the weather called for an oversized umbrella, in black, that matched her chic black patent leather headband. Sometimes we have to be thankful for a rainy forecast.
All of the awards have become like an episode of 7th Heaven. Everything looks staged to make conservative, Christian middle-America feel safe and not challenged. The dresses are so boring, that I can now turn on an awards show and get the same effect as taking an Ambien. Why am I such an optimist that I feel that the Oscars may have some girls that actually take a risk. Short cocktail dresses or pants would be so interesting amongst the boring sea of long, asymmetrical gowns.

Let me know about your potential trip. We will need lots of time watching DVD’s like Valentino and the Secret World of Haute Couture (have you seen it? Brilliant footage of Betsy Bloomingdale and Deeda Blair) with exorbitant amounts of vino. Well, if a trip sounds appealing, give me a call.

Biggest kiss

Leave a Reply

