A passion for food + fashion

Minty Fresh!

In Food on January 6, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Every January, I go on a two-week “dry out” during which time I don’t drink alcohol. Naturally ones thoughts turn to sugar at times like this, namely Fiorello’s Artisan Gelato, which is—hands down—the best domestic gelato I’ve ever tasted. My parents usually stock a couple pints and in the past I’ve gone crazy for their caramel balsamic and their pistachio. But this past Christmas, my parents had a pint of my least-favorite ice cream flavor, mint chip. And guess whose favorite flavor it now is? Instead of the usual awful synthetic stuff, this tasted of fresh mint and the shards of chocolate were divine. Plus the gelato itself was creamy white instead of some weird shade of green that exists only outside of nature. Moments ago, I picked up the phone and dialed their number in San Rafael only to hear from a very sweet woman what I feared: their gelato is not available outside Northern California. Which leaves me with no booze and no gelato. Thanks a lot, cruel (self-imposed) fate! So if anyone’s going to be in wine country this week, how about helping a girl out by grabbing a pint or two at Dean & Deluca?

  1. In a pinch, Trader Joe’s has a delicious mint chip – and it’s un-green!

  2. or make your own!!🙂 my olive oil gelato turned out grrrreat. the only thing is–for that creamy, smooth, mouthfeel factor, you must eat it straight from the maker.which is, you know, fine by me.

  3. so, not a fan of the shamrock shake?

  4. thanks for this! going to have to try- you know I love ice cream.

  5. Have you tried the Strauss creamery ice cream at Whole Foods? Your post reminded me of their mint chip. Not green, subtle creamy mint flavor. That may work in a pinch.

  6. http://fiorellos.blogspot.com/

    Just found the fiorello’s blog page. I heard that there might be a couple of restaurants in LA that serves Fiorello’s gelato. I love their gelato best.

Leave a Reply

