A passion for food + fashion

Clam Chowder Satisfaction

In Food, Out of Town on December 28, 2009 at 9:34 pm

Yesterday morning my sister and I ran 8 hilly miles through the misty vineyards and woods in St. Helena. We were hellbent on undoing any good we might have achieved, and so hightailed it to Hog Island Oyster Co at the Oxbow Market in Napa for lunch. The dozen oysters—Hog Island sweetwaters—would have been virtuous enough had we stopped there. But we didn’t. Instead we piled on with a pint each of Lagunitas IPA and steaming bowls of clam chowder, which consisted of Manila clams, bacon, potatoes, carrots and celery in cream. Mr. Foodinista, who did not run 8 miles, must have been experiencing fondue withdrawal from the other night. He opted for a grilled cheese sandwich featuring Cowgirl Creamery Gruyère and Fromage Blanc with housemade pickles. I may have indulged in (read: demanded) a gooey delicious bite…

  1. Now you are killing me. My only retort is that I had a dozen incredible little necks on the 1/2 shell last night at Go Fish with a spot of bubbly. (after the unbelievable “Beluga at the Sol Bar” Tuesday night special at Solage. But I drove.

  2. Heather,

    This blog is beautiful. Finally getting a chance to check in again and I’m very impressed. Congratulations!

  3. I hate running, but even I might just run a few miles for a feast like that. Hog Island has the very best oysters around. Its oysters are the only one I enjoy with no sauce or accompaniment at all. They’re so sweet and briny all on their own, it would be a shame to mask any of that mouth-watering goodness.

Leave a Reply

