A passion for food + fashion

Countdown to Christmas

In Media on December 15, 2009 at 6:42 pm

I had to laugh yesterday when my friend Lesley commented “Shame that all those formative years working holidays at The Gap ruined my affection for many Chirstmas songs.” I asked what her least fave was (mine is “Santa, Baby” as “sung” by Madonna), and she replied “I don’t know them until I hear them, and this season I’ve been avoiding it all like the swine flu. BUT, I just heard ‘simply having a wonderful Christmas time’ at this Coffee Bean, and I immediately wanted to shoot myself. Definitely the Gap effect.” So the timing of my friend Oscar’s Countdown to Christmas on his excellent blog, …To The Sublime, couldn’t be better. From now until Christmas Eve he will countdown his 10 favorite Christmas songs—and I’m pretty sure we’ll be McCartney and Madonna free (RIGHT, OSCAR???). He says, “You’ll hear a few of my R&B favorites, plus Caetano Veloso, Tom Waits(!) and Eydie Gorme(!!). Today we start it off with a dark, but groovalicious Christmas story from De La Soul. Happy Holidays, ya’ll.”

Check it out! As for The Foodinista’s faves? A tough call between two Frank Loesser classics…”Baby, It’s Cold Outside” (as sung by Ray Charles and Betty Carter, 1962) and “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve” (sung by Ella Fitzgerald, 1960). And of course “Chestnuts Roasting By An Open Fire” by the velvet fog, Mel Tormé. My guilty little pleasure. And yours?

  1. Good picks! I’m partial to the Beach Boys singing “Man With All The Toys” — it’s a little like the Boys are trying to ID Santa in a line up.

  2. Madonna! Imposter…”Santa Baby” is the sole property of the divine Eartha Kitt, and a true classic of the season. Who doesn’t want a Santa, baby?

    Best guilty pleasure if you’re having an off-day during the holidays – listen to “Hard Candy Christmas” from Dolly Parton. You’ll immediately feel better about your own circumstances!

    • I LOVE “Hard Candy Christmas.” When I lived in SF, my roommate Di and I would wake up late on Saturday mornings, make a pot of coffee, smoke cigarettes and play board games while listening to soundtrack from “Best Little Whorehouse in Texas.”

  3. Guilty pleasures = “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” by Rowlf the Dog and John Denver.

    & “Little Drummer Boy” by Bing Crosby and David Bowie

    Favorite = “In The Bleak Midwinter” by the Kings College, Cambridge Choir

  4. See, the thing is, I really love Christmas music; I just wasn’t thrilled about the holidays coming so fast this year. But I finally pulled out of some of my CDs and got in the spirit. I have some random ones like “Maybe This Christmas,” which I love. I have a new fondness for “God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman,” a song I never really cared for, but sung by Barenaked Ladies, it’s a treasure. And Ben Folds’ “Bizarre Christmas Incident” is fun and frolicky. There’s also a song by Dan Wilson, “What a Year for a New Year,” particularly poignant, I suppose, because this album came out in 2001. But it’s really a lovely song.

    I have some Frank Sinatra Christmas, another called “the Most Fabulous Christmas Album Ever!”, which has the aforementioned fabulous Eartha Kitt singing “Santa Baby.” Vince Garibaldi, of course, is a must.

    But on Christmas Eve I pulled out my old Charles Brown “Please Come Home for Christmas.” I got this way back when I lived in Baltimore, and thought I lost it forever. Just. The. Best. Bluesy, jazzy Christmas songs. With a TON of organ. ha.

    I, too, am a sucker for “Baby It’s Cold Outside,” the same version you mention. But I even liked Zoe Deschanel and Will Ferell singing it.🙂

  5. That’s supposed to be Guaraldi. Vince Guaraldi. Was I thinking about Mexican food when I wrote that?

Leave a Reply

