A passion for food + fashion

Thyme Café + Market

In Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on November 17, 2009 at 10:34 am
Thyme Café & Market © thyme inc

thyme café + market © thyme inc

This weekend, my sister and I met our cousin Stefanie for lunch at a new café in Ocean Park called Thyme, which opened last month. It has sort of a Joan’s vibe with lots of white subway tile, charcoal accents and marble countertops. And the menu features similar fare, including a chicken taragon salad sandwich—which I tend to order whenever I see one. When I’ve gotten this at Joan’s, I’ve been disappointed by the bread, which tends to be on the dry side. Here at Thyme, every aspect of the sandwich was FANTASTIC. Smaller slices of hazelnut raisin bread, so a manageable sized sandwich, and with the perfect ratio of tarragon. I would (and now will) drive across town for this sandwich. My sister had an equally superb egg salad sandwich and Stefanie tried a trio of grilled salmon salad, orzo salad and a third that’s escaping memory (I think it involved snap peas?). And we each got mini cupcakes for dessert with some good, strong coffee. Please, please go check this place out and let me know what you order!

mini cupcakes at thyme © thyme inc

mini cupcakes © thyme inc

  1. Sounds yummy…can’t wait to try it on my next trip!

  2. Thanks for blogging about Thyme! This is my sister’s cafe. I also went to UC Davis and was friends with Margaret Snow who told me about your blog, which is so fun and informative. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

