A passion for food + fashion

Postcards from Billy

In Fashion, Film, Media on September 13, 2009 at 9:37 am

stampsFor the newly initiated, POSTCARDS is recurring feature with fashion advice from my dear friend Billy, an art consultant with a wicked eye and even wickeder wardrobe. In this edition, he reflects on this past round of September issues of fashion mags. (Btw, has anyone seen The September Issue, The Movie? My friend Dana and I have a date to see this coming weekend.) And without further ado, a postcard from an unlikely location…


Postcard from the Bathroom (TMI)

I am a far cry from Carrie Bradshaw, who would appropriately set aside a few hours and perhaps snuggle up with a latte to tear through the much awaited September issues of the fashion rags. Instead, I prefer to save these for either a long plane ride or a trip to the bathroom (I know, definitely TMI). It’s often difficult to plan a trip around the delivery of the biggest issues of the year of Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar and W, so I guess I must reconcile myself to the latter option this year. I know I could probably just surf the internet for a taste of the upcoming collections, but I am old school and would rather wait, like an anxious child before Christmas morning, for the delivery of the telephone book size editions of the fashion world tomes.

So, without further ado let me first address the ads. We all know that the bulk of the fall issues is 80% paid promotions for the fashion houses and cosmetic giants.

· Love, love, love the Dolce & Gabbana images of somewhat feral models in brilliant beast fur coats. Did they get some sort of kick-back from Spike Jonze to help promote his upcoming flick, Where the Wild Things Are?

Dolce & Gabbana Winter 2010

Dolce & Gabbana Winter 2010


· To paraphrase Michael Kors from a recent Project Runway“maybe it’s so forward thinking that we don’t get it” – Prada’s new campaign is either really avant garde or AWFUL. At this point, I am going with the latter. The girls are most likely the standard size 0 models, but somehow they look like they are plus-size and wearing the new offerings from Casual Corner. I will say that the rubber wading boots with garters seem like a chic homage to fly fishing, but that’s the only good thing I can say about these ads.

· I’ve always felt that Nordstroms were nothing but elaborate money laundering fronts since I never seem to find anything worthy of my credit cards, but I have discovered a brilliant new designer in their latest spread – Haider Ackermann. The gorgeous blood-red fish tail skirt with matching zippered coat is breathtaking.


Okay, so I get it … they want to be timely and he was the King of Pop, but all the editorials that paid tribute to Michael Jackson were not very inspired – hello Harper’s Bazaar. It was probably too late to meet deadlines, but I would have much rather seen fashion shoots with references to all of the brilliant films of my youth by John Hughes. His passing has definitely made me more melancholy. So, how about models styled in homage to:

· Claire Standish – the most stylish Molly Ringwald character from The Breakfast Club. Although some will argue that her naïve ingénue in Sixteen Candles was more fashion forward for the time. I still salivate when I see her in the coraly pink top paired with the paisley wrap-around skirt and perfectly tied together with brown belt and chic lace-up knee high boots. She was the perfect package down to her bento box of sushi, her daddy’s BMW and her poor, rich drunk mother in the Caribbean (to steal a line from Judd Nelson’s character, John Bender).


· Jules – Demi Moore at her Republican party girl preppy best in St. Elmo’s Fire.
· Sloane Peterson – some will say that Ferris himself was the fashion icon of the movie bearing his name, but I was so enamored with his girlfriend played by the gorgeous Mia Sara.

sloane peterson
So, head to the newsstand and pick up all of the September issues and let me set the soundtrack for the next few hours you’ll need to peruse these massive editions. Its only right that the Ipod is geared up for a tribute to Hughes films, so plan on some Orchestral Maneuvers in the Dark, Flesh For Lulu, The Rave Ups, Psychedelic Furs and of course, Eighties by Killing Joke.

  1. How could I have forgotten Demi Moore’s preppy party girl in St. Elmo’s? Oddly, remembering her that way makes Aston Kutcher bearable today.

Leave a Reply

