A passion for food + fashion

Beer Float

In Drink, Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on September 4, 2009 at 9:58 am

beer float

Allow these two words to sink in: Beer. Float. I don’t know where to begin, other than that this is the most genius dessert ever. Yesterday my friend Anne and I met for lunch at The Golden State on Fairfax for some bratwurst and fries. The dogs are courtesy of Let’s Be Frank, and are made with humanely raised pork.


But back to the matter at hand, namely beer + ice cream. Anne ordered us each a beer float—made with Old Rasputin imperial stout and a scoop of brown bread ice cream (they feature several flavors from Scoops—another post for another time). The malty stout mixed with this truly insane ice cream is just heaven in a pint glass. I think I might riff this weekend at home with some Guinness and chocolate gelato.

  1. Love Golden State! Had to share that beer float with two others. So good and filling!

  2. My first reaction was ‘yuck’ b/c the mix of stout and sweet ice cream seemed…unseemly. But I remember in Ireland becoming addicted to a splash of sweet black currant syrup in my Guinness. Soooo good. Gelato sounds like a delightful mix!

    • the brown bread ice cream had some crunchy bits in it and was great with the malt. i think using a stout is the key. they’re so malty – and then if you have a vanilla-based ice cream, it’s almost like a vanilla-malt milkshake combo. i like anne’s idea of getting the salty-chocolate ice cream from scoops and making your own at home. there’s an awesome chocolate-Guinness cake on epicurious that uses that same flavor combo. soooo good!!!!

  3. haven’t been able to get it out of my mind… i might have to go back… or go to scoops for some saltly chocolate ice cream and make one at home…

  4. Sounds delightful. Can you wait until next weekend to riff on this? I’ll bring more of Annie’s cookies!

  5. This sounds like the perfect post baby treat. Wednesday is D- day if not before.


  6. Wow, I’ve never thought of a beer float! I guess with Old Rasputin it might work because of the dark chocolate and espresso type notes in the beer. When I read the title I was imagining a beer float with like Bud and I almost vomited!! I guess Bud isn’t really beer though, that is if your a beer enthusiast like myself. Cheers!

  7. Hey Foodinista, tomorrow is great excuse for you to venture west of the 405! We’re having a Let’s Be Frank / Stone Brewing dinner for the release of the 09.09.09 Vertical Epic. Hope you can make it!


  8. if one is going to drink a beer float, it should be with raspy. good call.

Leave a Reply

