A passion for food + fashion

Fig Time!

In Food, Recipes on July 19, 2009 at 8:38 am


I’ve been seeing baskets of Black Mission Figs, and wanted to try using for one of my sister’s faves—gorgonzola and fig pizza. I got the dough from Whole Foods, and though I’ve said it before, it bears repeating: let the dough sit out for several hours and let it double in size and then punch down and let it happen again. This results in a more flavorful, thin and crispy crust. My neighbor Ted says you can also buy fresh dough at Village Pizza on Larchmont and Damiano’s, which I’m all over next time.

First, caramelize some red onions in butter, cooking on medium for about 20 minutes. The douse with a little balsamic and cook for another minute or two.


Then, crank up the oven to 500 degrees and cook crust by itself for 3-4 minutes. Then crumble gorgonzola over crust, add sliced figs, fresh rosemary, caramelized onions. Cook with toppings for about 10 minutes.


Also, for the above pizza we draped prosciutto over, which frankly was gilding the lily. I wouldn’t do it again; my husband would.

For past pizza experiments, here are two of my faves:

Pizza with Balsamic Marinated Radicchio and Fresh Ricotta

Pizza with Long-Cooked Broccoli

  1. Gorgeous. This is my favorite pizza combination! I’m also a big fan of long-rise pizza dough.🙂 Keep up the great work!

  2. The best pizza dough in town is from Bay Cities Deli in Santa Monica – AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

