A passion for food + fashion

The Foodinista’s Guacamole

In Food, Recipes on June 7, 2009 at 11:02 pm


Though The Foodinista did not take home the CASA NOBLE REPOSADO TEQUILA trophy yesterday, she/I did have a strong following with those who like a cilantro-heavy guacamole, including chef Jimmy Shaw of Loteria (clearly, the need for affirmation on my part is strong). I am also generous with the lime juice. I love how fresh the guac tastes with a liberal use of cilantro and lime. One important note: my guac doesn’t use garlic—my feeling is that garlic sends guac in a sweet direction I’m not wild about. But plenty of people love garlic in guac. Which is why the Guac Off is genius, because there are five distinct styles so it really is all about personal preference and I have to say I LOVED them ALL!

One note – sorry, Katie! I feel terrible that I was out of normal salt and only had sea salt on hand, so I hope the consistency wasn’t off – yours tasted GREAT. As you know, your guac had a strong following. Care to share your recipe on TheFoodinista.com? And where are the boys in this? Oscar? Adam? We want your recipes! Just because you rose above trashing talking doesn’t mean your guacs weren’t FIERCE.

I don’t have exact proportions for my guac, but here’s an approximation. We each made an eight-avocado guac, which is a LOT, so adjust as you will…


4-6 serrano chiles, seeded and diced

2 tbsp Spanish olive oil

8 ripe Haas avocados, peeled and pitted

1/2 large red onion, finely chopped

1 large bunch cilantro, rinsed and finely chopped

1 ripe heirloom tomato, seeded and diced

Sea salt, lots of it

2-3 key limes, halved

In a molcajete, grind diced serranos into olive oil. Transfer mixture into bowl. Add avocados, onions and cilantro.


Mash with fork, leaving avocado chunks (I don’t like mine too smooth). Meanwhile, I like to salt the hell out of the chopped tomatoes in another bowl to concentrate the tomato flavors. Unfortunately on game day, I had forgotten tomatoes and so my husband ran to the store at the last minute (the drama! the suspense!), and rescued me by bringing back a lovely hothouse tomato, but I didn’t have to do anything beyond seeding and chopping it up. But if you have 30 minutes – sprinkle the chopped tomatoes with salt before you begin your prep, and the result will be intense tomato flavor. Then add tomatoes to avocado mixture. Add lime juice to taste. For 8 avocados, I think I probably squeeze about 2-3 key limes. Salt to taste. And then add a little more salt…

  1. I will publish mine later, unless I need to keep it a secret since I will be defending my title next year? Nah, even perfection has room for improvement, or evolution, right? Anyway, just to say here that even though i brought over those gorgeous fresh heads of garlic that I’d bought at the Venice farmers market a couple weeks back–I didn’t put them in my guac. Just that I was getting ready to move and thought I’d clean out the (silver vintage Mexican) vegetable bowl while I was thinking about it. I don’t believe in garlic in guac, though my sister uses it, so I guess it exists.

Leave a Reply

