A passion for food + fashion

Hadley Fruit Orchards

In Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on May 12, 2009 at 7:40 am


Any trip to Palm Springs is not complete without a stop at Hadley’s, home of the best date shake as well as a wacko assortment of dried fruits and vegetables from Calimyra figs to okra chips. It’s a great place to load up on Medjool dates, and an even better place to order a decadent shake. I like mine made with half banana, half date (the banana cuts the sweetness of the dates).


Mr. Foodinista goes cuckoo for cocoa puffs over Hadley’s date cookies, which are deliciously chewy. We always grab a tub of wasabi peas and the cookies, invariably eat too many of each in the hotel room over the weekend, and then gobble up the rest back at home.


  1. Ah, this post reminds me of my grandma, she loved her a date shake from Hadley’s. I’m with you, half date, half banana–tastes like breakfast cereal, but in a good way. I always got the chocolate covered honeycomb when I was a kid–and gave myself a stomach ache eating the whole thing.

  2. You’ll find a greeat recipe for ode-to-hadley’s date milkshake in Sunday Suppers. Maybe Mr. F. would appreciate!

    And by the way, guess who doesn’t NEED a pigface on her molcajete to make guac like a messican?

  3. My grandparents owned “Ripple Date Shop” in Indio. I have a photo hanging in my apartment of their shop (circa 1935-ish). There’s a special place in my heart for the date shake…and my dad has it nailed! Fun topic Foodinista!

Leave a Reply

