A passion for food + fashion

Squash Blossom Quesadillas

In Food, Recipes on May 5, 2009 at 7:49 pm


This evening I heard a ratta-tat-tat at my back door, and opened it to find my dressed-to-the-nines, 81-year-old neighbor Joyce (and her stylish Jack Russell, Chelsea). Joyce had half a dozen squash beautiful blossoms to share with us, and I knew exactly what I wanted to do with them. I grabbed some crème fraîche and feta out of the fridge, and mixed a dollop of the crème fraîche with some crumbed feta.

blossomsfetaThen I spread the feta mixture on one half of a tortilla, and then topped with torn squash blossoms and a little freshly cracked pepper.


Then I folded them over, and deep-fried them in vegetable oil for a couple minutes, flipping once and burning the hell out of my hand in the process, so ¡cuidado! And Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

P.S. The quesadillas were muy bueno!

P.P.S. I don’t habla español so good. Does it show?

  1. Que bueno! I’ve always wanted something to do with squash blossoms besides stuffing and frying them. These look delectable.

  2. Oh. My. God. YUM.

Leave a Reply

