A passion for food + fashion

It’s a Guac-Off!

In Food on April 24, 2009 at 8:14 am


Wow, so this is really happening. After five years of running my mouth about this, I’ll be facing off against some truly formidable competitors in a little over a month for the title of Best Guacamole. A taste of the competition: My friend Katie is ruthless. Let’s just say she beats boys at sports, handily. And Katie being Katie has already begun sourcing avocados. Like I’m not onto her… Carolynn has a James Beard Award under her belt and, oh yeah, she writes cookbooks with Nancy Silverton. And my friend Oscar launched the much loved, and much missed, magazine Tu Ciudad. Basically I’m up against a bunch of slackers. It’s time to get my head in the game.

Stylistically, what’s your favorite guac and why?

  1. Yeah, right! Like i’m going to tell you!

  2. …and you forgot to mention that I am half Mexican and I learned to make guacamole from my Mexican grandmother. But I don’t want to scare you. I’ll bring the tinga.


  3. I will give you my recipe for guacamole which also happens to be the best I have ever had. It is very simple. Let me start by saying that I am a purist. As with most things culinary, I prefer things pretty stripped down. For example, don’t like tomatoes in my guac. Too slimy.

    Cilantro, chopped
    Onion, chopped
    Green Tabasco, lots of it
    Sea salt
    Fresh Ground pepper

    Mix, mash, and eat with chips

  4. I had the best guac ‘Casa del Mar’ in Cabo. After eating it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner we finally asked why it was so good. It had something to do with heavy cream and butter. Ouch!

  5. I wish I was in town….I would have to throw down the green with y’all! Take lots of pictures

  6. I love you neighbor, but you cannot compete with Katie’s guac. Can’t be beat. I’ve tried them all… But best of luck to you anyways.

  7. When is it???

  8. I think Henry and I might have to crash this fest to finally have our play date. Carolynn invited me as her date and suggested I make the cucumber agua fresca. Whacha think?

Leave a Reply

