A passion for food + fashion

Mikawaya Mochi

In Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on April 15, 2009 at 7:56 am


Finally it seems like the end of jury duty is in sight! I can’t comment on my time in the courtroom, but I can say the bright spot of the day has been revisiting some of my favorite spots downtown, particularly in Little Tokyo. The small pleasure I will miss the most is being able to stop into Mikawaya Mochi for a red bean (ogura) mochi ice cream, which is red bean-flavored ice cream wrapped in a pleasantly chewy rice paste. Mikawaya has been in business in Little Tokyo since 1910, and was the creator of the mochi ice cream! You may have seen their products in the frozen section at Trader Joe’s, but usually the flavor options are limited to green tea, strawberry, chocolate or mango. Really, the very, very best flavor is red bean. And I don’t think I’ve seen it outside the shop in the Japanese Village Plaza.

Leave a Reply

