A passion for food + fashion

Lunch for $15 or Less: Downtown Farmer’s Market

In Food, On Location: Out and About in L.A. on April 9, 2009 at 5:12 pm

The latest in my quest for lunch under $15 while I’m on jury duty downtown…


Every Thursday, the Arts District/Little Tokyo Farmers Market sets up shop on the south lawn of City Hall from 10am to 2pm. There’s a dude, who is only marginally less annoying than Yusuf Islam, strumming the guitar and singing Moonshadow for diners eating lunch at picnic tables set up on the lawn.


In addition to all sorts of produce and tschotkes, there are a number of food stalls selling kabobs, tamales, tortas, salads, grilled corn on the cob, pan-Asian, you name it. I always like to see where the longest line is, and in this case it was for fresh roasted peanuts, which smelled absolutely incredible!


But I wanted something a little more substantial for lunch, so I jumped into the second longest line, in front of a stall called Yum Yum Grill. I watched as a woman grilled eggs, potatoes, chicken sausage and onions together and folded them into a crepe-like tortilla with crispy cheese melted on the outside. I turned to the guy behind me and said,”What’s good here?” Without missing a beat, he said the breakfast burrito, which also happens to be one of my greatest weaknesses. So I ordered one and then listened as he ordered chicken tandoori and whole wheat couscous instead. Huh. Anyway, the breakfast burrito ($8) was totally bueno but ENORMOUS. Halfway through I admitted defeat and called a friend at the Los Angeles Times across the street to see if he could take the other half off my hands. He was all too happy to do so.


  1. The smell you were referring to, the longest line you witnessed was not roasted peanuts, in fact, it was Cinnamon Glazed Almonds, Cashews & pecans. You also show a picture of roasted of shelled nuts which is not the line you witnessed, nor was it the aroma you witnessed. I feel that you need to refer to the correct vendors and give credit where credit is due.

    • Hi Bella! I am peanut-addicted and so was definitely suckered in by their aroma, but can’t wait to check out the cinnamon glazed almonds next time around. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

