A passion for food + fashion

J’Adore Dior

In Fashion on April 3, 2009 at 7:15 pm
Michelle Obama / Carla Bruni-Sarkozy via The Huffington Post

Maybe I’m still disappointed with Michelle Obama for that total snooze of an outfit she wore to meet the Queen (who was so prettily turned out in pink), and her meeting with First Lady of Fashion Carla Bruni-Sarkozy this morning didn’t do much to change my mind. (Though I LOVED her Junya Watanabe cardy the other day.) I feel like Obama’s Thakoon read kind of “mall” and wasn’t quite in the same league as Bruni’s effortlessly chic Dior. Why is it that the French always get it right? I mean – the flats, the lapis bag, the belted coat! Speaking of coats – check out the dueling bows. The Huffington Post has some great “Fashion Face-Off!” pics, here are a few, but their poll has Obama’s frumpy bow winning the popularity vote. Qu’est-ce que c’est?




This just in via CNN Political Ticker: Apparently Oscar de la Renta had some harsh words for Michelle’s sartorial slacking at Buckingham Palace. I think Michelle gets it right most of the time, but I totally agree with de la Renta, and admit that I, too, am a little bit J. Crew-ed out.

  1. Yes, I agree that J Crew wasn’t quite the thing. It’s been argued that her clothing choice was a gesture of sensitivity towards the global economic crisis. Still, I think if you’re meeting heads of state something more formal is called for and you will be forgiven if it’s expensive!

    Am I old-fashioned for thinking an all-shiny dress is not quite right for daywear–contrast with just a touch of shimmer in Bruni’s dress? Is that still the general consensus?

  2. I’m referencing the cardigan-to-meet-the-queen in that first paragraph, by the way.

Leave a Reply

