A passion for food + fashion

Friday Follies: Isn’t She?

In Fashion, Film on March 13, 2009 at 8:08 am

Friday Follies [n., pl.] postings on Fridays about fashion and food in film from guest bloggers with impeccable taste.


While there have been some amazing films out over the past year, when the world is going a little bit crazy and I’m feeling the need for comfort, I turn to the golden years of movies – the eighties!

I was a “Jersey Girl” with an Aqua Net frosted perm, tooling around in my beloved periwinkle blue Firebird—sad but true. Back then my fashion inspirations leaned more towards Madonna and Downtown Julie Brown (wubba wubba my friends!) than my favored Rick Owens and Ann Demeulemeester of today. Modern media enthralled and inspired me, and Reaganomics (plus, in my case, a part-time job at Contempo Casuals) offered the possibility to buy it all.

My first pair of pricy sunglasses for example, were Ray-Ban Wayfarers ala Risky Business. For my “Best Dressed” picture in the yearbook, I sported drop-crotch harem pants ala Can’t Buy me Love, and my previously mentioned hairstyle was a dead ringer for SJP in Girls Just Want to Have Fun. But the film that undoubtedly had the most influence on me style-wise was the oh-so-classic Pretty in Pink.

The 1986 drama was the story of Andie, a girl from the wrong side of the tracks and her “richie” love interest Blane. Andie was magical in her style, taking thrift store frocks and altering or layering them into these wonderfully inventive looks. Her boss and mentor Iona on the other hand was fearless in her style, be it punk, priestess or 1950’s-housewife-on-a-hot-date, while her best friend Duckie worked a ratty beatnik kind of look that I find as charming today as I did back then.

Funny enough, many of the trends from that film are still relevant in fashion today. For example, I just bought this Alexander Wang oversize black blazer, $625 at La Garçonne, that reminds me of the one Andie wears in this picture.


I also scooped up a bunch of Kain’s fantastic modal and cashmere blend T-shirts and tank tops, this one, a dead ringer for Iona’s dress was a mere $85 at Madison Los Angeles.


On my wish list are the genius pointy-toe boots from Yohji Yamamoto’s collaboration with Dr. Martens that lovingly remind me of Duckie’s favorite creepers.


At a whopping $860, they are a bit steep, but like another movie heroine of seasons past said, “I always rely on the kindness of strangers!”—Kim Friday, Senior Fashion Editor, WWD

Leave a Reply

